Club Info

An executive committee runs Celtic Harriers Club

They comprise of:

  • The President
  • Chairperson
  • Vice-Chairperson
  • Treasurer
  • Club Captain
  • Social Convenor
  • additional members

They are elected at the Annual General Meeting in November each year. All members are eligible to stand. The Club is governed by its constitution which is available on request from the Secretary.

Our races are organised by various sub-committees which report to the executive Committee. Assistance with these races is always required and we trust that you will offer your help when requested.

The Club office is located below the Club house & bar of Villagers Football Club and is open on Tuesday & Thursday evenings:

  • High Season (November to April) from 17h00 to 20h00
  • Low Season (May to October) from 17h30 to 20h00

Members can enjoy

  • Organised Weekly Club Runs (morning and early evening)
  • Organised Weekly Time Trials
  • Organised Weekend Club Runs
  • Organised Weekly Trail Runs
  • Weekly Newsletters on latest Club & race information and results
  • Regular updates via Facebook & WhatsApp and reminders of special events via WhatsApp
  • Changing & Shower Facilities
  • Bar & Restaurant Facilities
  • Social Events
  • Special reduced fees at the Sports Science Institute of South Africa (SSISA)

Meet our committee

The Beginning

1906 – 1914
One evening in 1906 a group of young Irishmen met in a hall in Cape Town to discuss forming an athletic club. Captain Shawelhood was the chairman. There was considerable enthusiasm and as a result of it the Club was born. Other men who were present at the meeting were Charles Robertson, R.H. Heaney, A.D. Hamilton, Sid Panther, E.Brassell, P.V. O’Keefe, F.C. Friedmond and H.Seffe. R.H Heaney was the first captain of the club. Sid Panther was an outstanding personality. He did not win any trophies or titles during his career but he did much to foster Club spirit. In particular he organised hikes from Kloof Nek to The Glen and from Fish Hoek to Kommetjie. In 1933 he presented a trophy known as the Sid Panther Shield, to the Club to be awarded annually to the member of the Club for the most outstanding performance during the season

As early as its second year (the 1907-8 track season) one of the Club’s members won a Western Province championship, the 4 miles (a track event). He was S.V. “Servie” Brown. In the same year he won a South African title, the 2-miles steeplechase. The next year he won the W.P. 10 mile cross-country title and the Club tied with Spartan Harriers in the 10 mile cross-country team event. As from the 1909-10 season the Club was strong on the track and cross-country. In the 5 seasons from 1909-10 to 1913-14, members of the Club won 12 W.P. track titles and 2 South African track titles as well as 2 Western Province cross-country championships. The Club also won the cross-country team event once. The members who won these titles were : P.G.Kock, H.Elsner, J.W. Herman, E.T.Kotze, George Keay and Frank Solomon.